Grams Lemon Bundt

1069793_1009989415720061_2068775818786535460_n

 

First I must start by telling you that this is not my recipe but was given to me by my sister from another mister. This is her Gram’s Recipe so I am not sure where it originated from, but I was and am honored that it was passed down to me.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, Grease and flour one bundt pan.

1 small (3 ounce) package Lemon Jello

1 cup boiling water

1 pkg yellow cake mix not butter cake mix

3/4 cup veggie oil

1 tsp lemon extract

4 eggs room temperature

Mix package of yellow jello with boiling water and then let cool to room temperature.

In bowl of mixer with whisk attachment add, cooled jello, cake mix, lemon extract and veggie oil, Whisk until combined well.  Add eggs one at a time whisking until just combined.  Pour batter into bundt pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes or until toothpick inserted removes clean. Let cool on cooling rack in bundt pan for 15-20 minutes remove from bundt pan and glaze.

GLAZE

1 cup powdered sugar

juice from 1 large lemon

In a small bowl whisk together powdered sugar and lemon juice until smooth. Pour glaze over warm bundt cake and then cool completely.

After the bundt cake was cooled completely I dusted it with just a little powdered sugar!! I am not sure Gram’s would approve of the powdered sugar but it sure was nice to have a little piece of her in my kitchen. I will never forget her and had to enjoy my piece of bundt cake with a little snifter of Christian Brothers brandy!! XOXO

4 thoughts on “Grams Lemon Bundt

  1. Beautiful cake but I’m curious what is giving it the reddish color??? And I would love to find a bundt pan in that shape. Do you remember where you got it?? Thanks,

    • The red tint I believe is just from the camera because it was a lovely golden brown on the outside and yellow inside. Lol!! The bundt by is by Nordic ware and is called a heritage pan I believe it came from Sur La Table, but if you search Heritage bundt Pan on google there are other places that sell them or you can order online.

Leave a Reply

